Become a Member DC Helpdesk Member Sign In

Jack Eberspacher Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2010, the ARA Lifetime Achievement Award was renamed the Jack Eberspacher Lifetime Achievement award to honor the memory ARA’s former President & CEO who passed away in July 2009. This award is the highest honor presented by ARA for a career in agricultural retail.

Each year, the award is presented to a single honoree based on the following criteria:

  • Individual whose talent has fundamentally advanced ag retail
  • Individual who has made steadfast contributions to the association
  • Individual whose accomplishments have been acknowledged by professional colleagues and his or her local community
  • Individual whose work has stood the test of time

Nominations Open

Nominations open mid-year. Nominate candidates by completing the form before the deadline. This service award will be presented at our annual conference this year.

2023 Honoree

ARA honored Joe Hodges with the Jack Eberspacher Lifetime Achievement Award for his decades of leadership in ag retail. Hodges received ARA’s highest individual honor during ARA’s Conference & Expo general session attended by more than 620 agricultural professionals.

“Tim’s quest to support our industry did not end when he retired from his role as chief operating officer at Brandt Consolidated,” says ARA President and CEO Daren Coppock. “Now serving as ambassador and recruiter for ResponsibleAg, Tim started as a charter board member and chair helping to develop the industry-led initiative into what it is today.”

Learn more about his achievements in the news release below.

News Release

Past Recipients

  • 2022 - Tim McArdle, retired COO at BRANDT (news release)
  • 2021 - Alex McGregor, The McGregor Company (news release)
  • 2020 - Johnny Council, Grow West (news release) Watch Video
  • 2019 - Ron Farrell, Farrell Growth Group (news release)
  • 2018 - Larry Yargus, Yargus Manufacturing
  • 2017 - William "Tip" O'Neill, International Raw Materials
  • 2016 - Dave Downey, Purdue University
  • 2015 - Richard Gearheard, Agrium Retail
  • 2014 - Jon Nienas, Monsanto
  • 2013 - Ford B. West, TFI
  • 2012 - Jim Thrift, Agricultural Retailers Association 
  • 2011 - Al McQuinn, retired from Ag-Chem Equipment Company
  • 2010 - Bill Griffith, retired from American Cyanamid
  • 2009 - Jack Eberspacher, Past ARA President & CEO
  • 2008 - Ron & Eldon Stutsman, Neil Strong, Syngenta
  • 2007 - Glen Brandt, Brandt Consolidated 
  • 2006 - Spencer Douglas, Douglas Fertilizer 
  • 2005 - DeWalt J Willard, Willard Agri-Service 
  • 2004 - Wendell Stratton, Stratton Seeds
  • 2003 - Lloyd Burling, Il Assoc.
  • 2002 - Lowell Downey, ADM
  • 2001 - John Boyd, Morral Co.
2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Joe Hodges
2023 Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Joe Hodges