Become a Member DC Helpdesk Member Sign In

Excellence in Advocacy Award

This is a new award created in 2023 to highlight an ARA member who has surpassed expectations in grassroots advocacy to educate lawmakers and regulators about the invaluable work ag retailers do to help their farmer customers ensure a secure and plentiful food supply for all.

This award winner is selected by the ARA public policy team and is awarded annual at the ARA Conference & Expo. 

2023 Honoree

Mike Twining, vice president of sales and marketing at Willard Agri-Service, with the new Excellence in Advocacy Award attended by more than 620 ag retail industry professionals during the 2023 ARA Conference & Expo.

The ARA staff awarded Twining because of his service as vice chair of the ARA public policy committee, his testimony before the House Agriculture Committee on the onerous Waters of the U.S. (WOTUS) regulations, and more.

“Aside from his remarks to lawmakers and federal regulators about the great lengths ag retailers go to in order to safely provide fuel, feed and fiber to a growing population, he is an active and generous donor to the ARAPAC, our political action committee,” says ARA President & CEO Daren Coppock. “Our entire industry no doubt has benefited from his proactive generosity.”


2023 Excellence in Advocacy Award Mike Twining
Excellence in Advocacy Award honoree Mike Twining